Fresh Pasta Sauce

Note by Phyllis Brown:  With all the lovely tomatoes on hand I wanted to make a fresh pasta sauce tonight.  I started with chopped red onion, garlic and green pepper in my skillet.

My tomatoes were at least a pound and a half each – I used three.  They were juicy and very red.  Twelve yellow pear tomatoes added color.

There was one small zucchini on the vine – it was added to the skillet along with oregano and basil.

I could have eaten it just like this!  But I wanted a more traditional sauce tonight and let it cook for about 45  minutes with this result:

Fresh Pasta Sauce

  • olive oil
  • 1 large red onion, chopped
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • 4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/2 large green pepper, chopped
  • 3 very large red tomatoes, peeled, cored and roughly chopped, reserving juice
  • 12 yellow pear tomatoes, halved
  • 1 small zucchini cut in half and sliced
  • sugar
  • basil
  • oregano
  • 1 pound pasta
  • Feta cheese
  • fresh basil

Drizzle olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat.  Add onion and saute for five minutes, adding a sprinkle of salt and pepper.  Add garlic and green pepper, cooking for another few minutes.  Add the tomatoes and zucchini.  Bring to a boil and turn the heat to medium.  Add a handful each of dried oregano and basil and a good pinch of sugar.  Stir.  Taste and add more salt and pepper if needed.  Cook for about 45 minutes.

Cook pasta according to package directions.

Top pasta with sauce, Feta cheese and freshly chopped basil.  Enjoy!

10 responses to “Fresh Pasta Sauce

  1. There is nothing like a sauce made from fresh tomatoes – and this is the time of year to enjoy them. I love that your recipe uses tomatoes of varying sizes & colors, and zucchini. Great dish!

  2. Your yellow tomatoes are just killing me! Great looking dinner.

  3. Looks really good. I’m glad you add sugar to your tomato sauces, it;s a must that not everyone does. I adore simple tomato and pasta dishes. Well done.

  4. Now that’s a bowl of pasta! Love the last photo with the basil and feta…and of course, the wine caught my eye too! It’s like a garden sauce with all the variety of veggies!

  5. I fixed your fresh pasta sauce tonight for supper! It was wonderful! I had tomatoes from my very small, but, productive garden and a beautiful yellow pepper I just picked to use in it! Benny came up to eat and keep in mind that it is hard to get him to try new things when I haven’t tried it myself. He really loved it and has already ask me to make it again as soon as I have more tomatoes! He also put in another request for the chocolate banana loaf (the last slice went home with him tonight!) He said that the pasta sauce was the best he had eaten! I thought so too!! Thanks for sharing!!!!

Any thoughts?

