Chocolate and Blueberry Loaf Cake

Chocolate and Blueberry loaf cake

Note by Phyllis Brown:  This is a great recipe by Frugal Feeding – it was posted yesterday and by evening I had made this fantastic loaf!  And it’s just as good as it looks!  The chocolate is soft and warm – when eaten shortly out from the oven!  And the fresh blueberries are delightful!  The original recipe calls for bananas, but since I had none I substituted blueberries – I will have to make it again in the original version.  Visit Frugal Feeding for Chocolate and Banana Loaf Cake.

  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 stick butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 8 ounces dark chocolate, 70% cocoa or above, cut up into small chunks

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees and grease a standard size loaf tin.

Add flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl and mix well.  Cream together the sugar and butter until light.  Add eggs and mix well.  Fold in the flour, chocolate and blueberries.

Spoon into the loaf tin and bake for 40 minutes, turn the oven down to 300 degrees and bake an additional 30 minutes.  Enjoy!  And thank you Frugal Feeding!


12 responses to “Chocolate and Blueberry Loaf Cake

  1. Glad you made it, albeit in an altered form – looks delicious! 😀

  2. Looks so delicious enough to have with a cup of hot tea 🙂

  3. Bananas, blueberries. Either way, it sounds incredible, especially when combined with warm, gooey chocolate. Yum!.

  4. Isn’t it great when you see a recipe you just have to make. This looks wonderful.

  5. I can see why you had to quickly made this! It looks amazing!!

  6. I just had time to try out the chocolate blueberry loaf! I don’t get many Sundays off and my sister and her boyfriend and his mom (another redhead Hahah!) came by and I wanted to make something for a snack. I’m so glad I decided to make this it turned out great and was very easy to make! I did end up using banana’s instead of blueberries because I had some that were to ripe and I hate to waste them. The chocolate made such great addition to the taste! They all loved it and had to take some with them for the road! I real like that the recipe makes just one loaf. It is so easy to make you can always have it fresh from the oven!! Thanks sharing the recipe!!

Any thoughts?

