Orange, Olive and Onion Pizza

After having such success with my very first homemade pizza Friday night, I decided to branch out a little with the second one!  The recipe for pizza dough from Linda at Savoring Every Bite makes two pizzas.  For the second one, a few nights later, I couldn’t help but remember the orange salad I made the other day.  The sweet, flavorful oranges mixed with thinly sliced red onion and salty green olives was so tasty I thought it should be made into a pizza!  Who knows, perhaps it will become a classic!

After preparing the dough according to Linda’s recipe, add some shredded mozzarella and pecorino romano cheeses.  Peel two large oranges with a sharp knife, leaving no pith.  Slice and add to the pizza.  Add a generous handful of roughly chopped large green olives and some thinly sliced red onion.  I added just a bit more of the pecorino.  Bake at 425 degrees for about 18 to 20 minutes.  A very different taste for a pizza, but one I think you will enjoy!  Ritchey loved it – and so did my sister!

14 responses to “Orange, Olive and Onion Pizza

  1. Now this looks really tasty! I may have to try this while oranges are still in season!

  2. I’ve never seen oranges on a pizza, that is so neat! I love trying weird pizzas (that’s a compliment) and will definitely try this!

  3. You love your fruit. I agree with Joanne, weird but yummy looking.

  4. It certainly is a different pizza, but one I wouldn’t turn down. 😉

  5. Phyliis, this is awesome! You won’t believe it when you see my upcoming pizza post!! It confirms that we do think alike on foods we make!!

  6. So different, at first I thought it was a sweet fruit pizza, but, you’re correct, fruit can be in a savory salad, so why not? I’m glad it turned out! I’m sometimes too nervous to try something new. Way to go!

  7. Well, if this doesn’t take the cake … er … pie! I thought the salad was a good idea, so, why wouldn’t a pizza work? I’ll have a piece. No, make it two!

Any thoughts?