Mediterranean Chicken and Fruit

This is one of my Healthy January recipes!  Chicken, browned in olive oil, dried apricots and prunes, and couscous.  What a flavor-filled meal!  This was the second course to my Orange, Onion and Olive Salad.

Mediterranean Chicken and Fruit

  • olive oil
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1 cup dried apricots
  • 1 cup dried prunes
  • 15 ounces chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 cup couscous

Cut each chicken breast into two or three pieces.  Place each piece in a ziploc bag.  Pound with a mallet until thin.  In a large skillet over medium high heat drizzle a little olive oil.  Season the chicken with salt and pepper and add to the skillet.  Cook until browned on both sides – about ten minutes.  In a large measuring cup whisk the chicken broth, cinnamon and cumin.  Pour over the chicken.  Add the dried fruits.  Allow to cook for a few minutes.  Add the cup of couscous to the skillet.  Stir well.  Remove from heat and cover.  Let sit five minutes.  Enjoy!

17 responses to “Mediterranean Chicken and Fruit

  1. I LOVE these flavors! I put them in rice when we do lamb kabobs…

  2. This recipe sounds delicious Phyllis. We eat cus cus at least once a week. I have to try this way, I’m sure everybody will love it. Thanks!

  3. Sounds very delicious! I love couscous so I’ll try your recipe this weekend. Thanks a lot for this fab recipe.

  4. This meal couldn’t be easier, Phyllis, and it sounds delicious! Ever;ything about this dish is a win for me.

  5. I love chicken with fruit. This looks great.

  6. I love pairing chicken with prunes! Sometimes I don’t tell my guests cuz they get funny with the idea…better left unsaid! Great combo with the orange salad. Happy weekend!!

  7. Pingback: Mediterranean fruits | Kimtannerphotography

  8. Your recipe reminds me of a tangine. Chicken and fruit are a nice complement to each other.

  9. Fantastic combination of flavors, especially like the addition of couscous.

Any thoughts?

