Cherry Almond Biscotti

Note by Phyllis Brown:  Ritchey’s biscotti jar – yes, he does have one! – has been empty for awhile.  That was brought to my attention with such a sorrowful look on his face!  With ChgoJohn using so many cherries I thought I should try to incorporate my favorite fruit into the biscotti!  This was the result!  I used fresh dark, sweet cherries.  Yes, a bit of a mess to pit – and I was going to Bardstown for genealogy research the next day! – but definitely worth it!  This recipe is a variation of the Biscotti Toscani in Biscotti by Lou Seibert Pappas.

Cherry Almond Biscotti

  • 1/2 cup whole almonds
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup sweet, red cherries, pitted and roughly chopped

Place nuts in a shallow pan and bake in a preheated 325 degree oven until golden brown, about 8 to 10 minutes.  Let cool.  in a mixing bowl cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Beat in eggs, vanilla and almond extract.  In a bowl combine the flour, baking powder, nutmeg and salt.  Add to the creamed mixture, mixing until blended.  Cut almonds into halves or thirds and fold in along with the cherries.  Divide dough in half.  Place on greased baking sheets and form into two logs about 1/2 inch thick, 1 1/2 inches wide and 12 inches long.  Bake at 325 degrees for 25 minutes or until a light golden brown.  Transfer from the baking sheet to a rack.  Let cool 5 minutes.  Place on a cutting board and with a serrated knife slice diagonally at a 45 degree angle about 1/2 inch thick.  Lay the slices flat on the baking sheets and return to the oven for ten minutes, turning them over once, to dry slightly.  Let cool on rack.  Store in a tightly covered container.  Enjoy!

11 responses to “Cherry Almond Biscotti

  1. I had a cherry biscotti recipe years ago and they looked nowhere as good as these. I cannot wait to make these. Thank you for sharing the recipe and for the mention.

  2. I have a biscotti jar that is ALWAYS filled! At home and at work!! Biscotti is my favorite cookie and I’ve made so many, but never with fresh cherries! I’m so excited now to try this out. You did a great job with these as I would have thought the cherries would have bled thru the dough. Hope Ritchey is smiling now!

  3. Biscotti is one of my favorites and I need one of these jars. I love the cherries.

  4. this looks delicious, so talented!

  5. My mother in law used to make the best biscotti. I’m going to try making your recipe this spring when I pick cherries in our orchard. They really sound great.

  6. Pingback: Christmas Cookie Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Any thoughts?