Lemon, Rosemary and Garlic Roasted Chicken

I’m not sure what path I took today, but the thought of roasted chicken and dressing would not leave me alone!  It was almost an obsession!  My Grandmother Carrico made the VERY BEST chicken and dressing – cooked in a large cast iron skillet.  Grandmother’s chicken was always perfect – it was wonderfully brown, yet so very tender.  Sadly, I do not know exactly how she prepared and cooked her chicken.  The last time I enjoyed her cooking was about 45 years ago – but I remember exactly how it tasted, how tender it was and that it just melted in your mouth!  Grandmother baked her dressing in the skillet beside the bird – and she always added raisins!  Just too good!

My chicken and dressing is similar to Grandmother’s – but with my own twist!  I do believe this time it came closer to the desired succulent tenderness that I have been seeking!  I loosened the skin at the top and bottom of both sides of the breast – very carefully!  Making a paste of melted butter, chopped rosemary, lemon zest, chopped garlic and just a little white wine, I first basted under the skin, then the entire chicken.  I also added chopped apple in my dressing  – a little salute to fall!  Some brussel sprouts roasted with olive oil and balsamic vinegar completed the meal!  These two recipes will be posted in the next day or two.

Lemon, Rosemary and Garlic Roasted Chicken

  • 1 small chicken, about 3 pounds
  • 1 lemon, cut into wedges
  • 2 sprigs rosemary
  • 1/2 stick butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons freshly chopped rosemary
  • zest of one lemon
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons white wine
  • salt
  • pepper

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Place chicken on an open roasting pan.  Gently loosen skin at top and bottom of both sides of the breast.  Insert lemon wedges and rosemary sprigs into the cavity of the chicken.  Tie legs together with cooking twine.  In a small bowl mix melted butter, rosemary, lemon zest, chopped garlic, white wine, salt and pepper to make a thick paste.  Baste underneath the skin on the breasts of the chicken, then baste entire chicken.  Roast chicken for about an hour and fifteen minutes to an hour and a half.  Baste again about every 30 minutes.  Using an instant meat thermometer chicken will read 180 degrees and will be nicely browned when done.  Enjoy!

4 responses to “Lemon, Rosemary and Garlic Roasted Chicken

  1. It was sometime at the beginning of Summer when some friends and I were talking about dishes our Moms prepared during our youth. Each of our Mothers had prepared some form of chicken with rosemary, garlic, and lemon. As evidenced by your recipe, it’s a very tasty way to cook a chicken.

Any thoughts?