A Simple Pasta Dish

Most of my dinners are not the product of deep reflection and long, thought-through ideas for recipes!  Generally after walking in the door from work I have a cup of hot tea.  Just one of those truly relaxing and enjoyable pleasures I allow myself.  Perhaps a muffin or cookie if I have one.  After that I begin to formulate a plan for dinner and while cleaning or doing laundry the decision is made.  Not all that exciting, is it?  I love to surprise Ritchey with something new!  After a long day at work, coming home to share dinner is what’s on his mind, and I always try to make it special – even if it’s leftovers!  We do have to eat them sometimes!  Can’t let good food go to waste!  This was last night’s supper – along with the remainder of the Apple-Cranberry Crisp!

A Simple Pasta Dish

  • olive oil
  • 1 pound Italian sausage
  • 1 medium sweet onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 medium red pepper, cut into strips
  • 1 teaspoon ground fennel
  • 1 teaspoon ground rosemary
  • 8 ounces penne pasta, cooked to package directions
  • 4 ounces mozzarella cheese, cut into small cubes
  • 1 tablespoon chopped parsley

Saute the sausage in a little olive oil until almost brown.  Add onion, garlic and red pepper.  Add spices and stir well.  Continue cooking until sausage is brown and onion is soft.  Cook pasta while preparing sausage mixture.  Add cooked pasted to skillet along with mozzarella cheese.  Stir well.  Sprinkle with chopped parsley.  Enjoy!

14 responses to “A Simple Pasta Dish

  1. I did this last night but wish I;d had some sausage to put in it!

  2. I’m like you, I enjoy coming home from work and preparing dishes that are quick and light with what I have on hand. Your cup of tea is healthier than my glass of wine tho! I like to sip it slowly while I’m cooking and finish it with dinner! Italian sausage is always in my fridge or freezer!

  3. Simple, comforting and tasty sounds like a great way to welcome anyone home after a long day at work.

  4. There is absolutely nothing better, or more comforting, than pasta cooked simply!

  5. That looks so comforting…I’m ready for some good, simple food!

  6. Simply fantastic. I love quick pasta dishes, had one last night using leftovers.

  7. Well, I do love my pasta and this dish is right up my alley! While I’m eating one night’s supper, I’m looking at the dishes and thinking about the next night’s pasta. In my home, all roads lead to pasta!

Any thoughts?

