A Skillet of Pumpkin Goodness

Pumpkin is used in many and varied recipes during the Thanksgiving holidays, but how about serving it as a side dish – just as it is with a few spices added!  My mother served pumpkin like this when I was a little girl – and her mother cooked it the same way!  A generational recipe!  And it’s as simple as can be!  I took this to mom’s for Sunday night supper!

Cut your pumpkin into slices, remove the seeds and fibers, place on a cookie sheet, drizzle with olive oil and bake for about 35 to 40 minutes, or until pumpkin is tender.  Let it cool 10 to 15 minutes.  The pumpkin slides off the rind and is easily mashed.  If you have cooked a large pumpkin, bag what you have left from this recipe and freeze – use for pies or any pumpkin recipe!  I measure 2 cups per bag.

In a large skillet over medium-high heat, add 1/2 stick of butter, cut into slices.  Add mashed pumpkin.  A handful or two of brown sugar, some cinnamon and nutmeg and a sprinkle of salt is all it takes.  Stir and taste – adjust seasonings if necessary.  Cover skillet, turn heat to low and cook for about 15 minutes.  Enjoy!

10 responses to “A Skillet of Pumpkin Goodness

  1. This sounds really scrumptious… I like my vegetables to be simple and uncomplicated. I will try this as soon as I get back home… I have a few butternut waiting for me!

  2. This is so simple and fun looking and yet, I’ve never seen it done this way. Looks great.

  3. Great idea for serving pumpkin an alternative way!

  4. Well, I’ll be! I’ve cooked squash this way for years and never once thought to try pumpkin. Thanks, Phyllis, for sharing your family’s recipe. I’ll definitely try it.

  5. You know I love my pumpkin!! This is great, I love that it was roasted cut for the nuttiness and then mashed in a skillet. Sounds so good!!

Any thoughts?

