Cherry Cheese Muffins

Last night was a red letter day in our household – there was no dessert!  Perhaps that should be black letter day.  The recent Chocolate-Orange Biscotti and Apricot Almond Cookies are a distant memory.  I couldn’t disappoint the hubby two nights in a row.  Even though a pumpkin pie is just around the corner, I thought some good muffins would be the way to end a very busy work week.  Which ones?  Cherries and Cheese came to mind – I love Danish with these two ingredients – but how fattening is that?  These muffins are made with whole wheat and white flour – much better for you!  Well, if you can say that about a sweet!

I microwaved the dried cherries for one minute.  It plumped them a bit, and helped bring out the flavor.  Adding almond slices on top of the muffins gave them time to toast while in the oven.  All in all, I was highly pleased!  I hope you will be, too!

Cherry Cheese Muffins

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose white flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 well-beaten egg
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup cooking oil
  • 1 cup dried cherries, microwaved for 1 minute
  • 3/4 cup finely shredded asiago cheese
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds

Stir together thoroughly the flours, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Mix the egg, milk and cooking oil together in a measuring cup.  Stir the cheese into the flour mixture, then add the cherries and egg mixture.  Stir just until moistened.  Grease your muffin tin with butter.  Fill muffin tin with batter.  Sprinkle sliced almonds on the muffins.  Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes, until golden brown.  Enjoy!

12 responses to “Cherry Cheese Muffins

  1. Adorable recipe and image. When you have the time, do drop by my new post. I’d love to hear from you.

  2. Almond & cherry go so well together, don’t they? And I do like asiago cheese. I never would have thought to combine the 3. The more I think about it, though, the more I like the idea. I need to try these!

  3. Clever combination – I never would have put asiago in a sweet dish, either…but now you’ve got me thinking!

  4. Those are my kind of muffins. The kitchen sink kind!

  5. Dear Phyllis, these look amazing!

  6. What an interesting combination. I’ve got to make it just to see how it will taste. My father loved cherries so I was always baking something with cherries in it for him. Never thought to combine with cheese!!

Any thoughts?

