Biscuits – Just Waiting for Some Sorghum Molasses?

Friday my step-father teased me at lunch that he didn’t think I could make homemade biscuits!  Fully aware of what he was doing, I promised him the best homemade biscuits he’d ever had when we came for supper Sunday night.  This has been our routine for several years now – my sister and I cook and take Mom and Virgil supper every Sunday night.  They like the old tried and true recipes – I don’t experiment with them!  I leave that for Ritchey!  So even though I used Ina Garten’s Chive Biscuits recipe, it was sans chives!  These beauties lived up to their reputation when I made them – and Virgil had to eat his words, uh, biscuits – with sorghum molasses – just the way he likes them!

Rising in the oven!

Chive Biscuits

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 stick cold unsalted butter, diced
  • 3/4 cup half and half
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh chives or fresh parsley
  • 1 egg mixed with 1 tablespoon water, for egg wash

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Combine the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment.  Add the butter and mix on low speed until the butter is the size of peas.  With the mixer on low, add the half-and-half and beat until just mixed.  Add the chives and mix until just combined.

Dump the dough out on a well-floured board and knead lightly into a rectangle 3/4 inch thick.  Cut out rounds with a 2 1/2-inch round cutter and place on a sheet pan lined with parchment paper.  Brush with the egg wash.

Bake for 20 to 22 minutes, until the tops are browned and the insides are firm.  Serve warm.  Enjoy!

10 responses to “Biscuits – Just Waiting for Some Sorghum Molasses?

  1. I just love biscuits warm from the oven with melted butter. Your biscuits look beautiful.

  2. I’m starving…and wondering why biscuits don’t show up on my table more often.
    This must be remedied. And soon. 🙂
    Wonderful that you carry Sunday supper to the folks.

  3. Gorgeous! I’ve always used self rising flour but yours look so nice, I think I’m going to try this out. I fluctuate back and forth with either a butter brushing on top or the egg wash. I like how yours are golden shiny!!

  4. Biscuits straight from the oven just cannot be beat. And yes, these are perfectly golden. The sorghum molasses, however, is completely new to me. I’ve nothing against it but just leave the butter dish over here, next to my plate.

  5. Biscuits with chives… good thing I still have some leftover from the finally days of the garden. I’m lovin it!

  6. Pass the sorghum! Those do look perfect.

Any thoughts?

