A ‘Never Frozen’ Chicken Pot Pie!

It’s another leftover supper tonight!  A bit of chicken from Sunday supper.  A few green beans, carrots, potatoes and red onions cooked together.  This will make a delightful chicken pot pie!

Since the potatoes were few and far between I added an extra one to the pot.  My last two leeks went into the dish – oh how we will miss them until next season!  A handful of fresh dill, just a bit of added salt and pepper.  Lastly, half a cup of white wine with two teaspoons corn starch, whisked together.  All that was needed was a luscious pie crust!

Pie crust sounds daunting, but is very easy.  Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1 teaspoon baking powder in your mixer (or food processor – either will do!).  Mix just a moment to combine dry ingredients.  Add 1 stick butter cut into small pieces.  Mix until butter is about the size of small peas.  Add 5 to 6 tablespoons ice water, one at a time, until a moist clump forms.  Gather dough into a ball, wrap in plastic and refrigerate 15 to 20 minutes.  At that time take half the dough and roll out for your bottom crust.  Arrange in dish.  Roll out top crust.  Add chicken mixture to dish and cover with top crust.  Using 1 egg and 1 tablespoon water beaten together, brush on top crust.  Bake in a 400 degree oven for 30-35 minutes.  Enjoy!

Today I present to you my 125th post for Food Flowers Herbs and Life!  And I also present my 350th post for Kentucky Kindred – my genealogy blog, for those of you who have not heard of my other love!

13 responses to “A ‘Never Frozen’ Chicken Pot Pie!

  1. Do we all have pie on the brain, be it sweet or savory? 🙂
    Love chicken pot pie…
    Congrats on your milestone(s)!

  2. Pretty chicken pie and I love the acorns on top:)

  3. Congratulations on your 125th post, your 350th post, and one fantastic recipe for chicken pot pie! Pot pies are a comfort food, for me, and I love to enjoy one on the very cold evenings in Winter. I’m going to bookmark this recipe just for that occasion.

  4. This is my son’s favorite way to use up leftover chicken or turkey! You’ve made an amazing filling in this one! I love the little acorn cut outs on top!!

  5. Congrats on 125. Your pie looks wonderful, the flaky crust, extra potatoes. This would be so good with leftover turkey.

  6. I am going to try your pie crust recipe even though I have awful luck at making it. I am better with a crockpot.

    • The recipe is easy. The biggest help in making piecrust is to flour your surface well before you start. When you begin to roll out your crust do only a couple of rolls then turn it over – adding a little more flour to the counter if necessary. Keep turning the dough over as you roll it – that way it doesn’t stick to the counter and is easily moved to your dish. I gently fold my dough in half, then in half again before moving it. Some roll it on their rolling pin, I find it easier to fold. Then unfold when you put in your dish. Good luck!

  7. Booooo to frozen pot pies….hurray for your fresh and delicious pot pie!

Any thoughts?

