Chilled Quinoa Salad

Quinoa is a protein-filled seed that has a fluffy, creamy, somewhat crunchy texture and nutty flavor when cooked.  It was called “the gold of the Incas” who knew it gave great stamina to their warriors.  It is not only high in protein, but the protein it supplies is complete protein, meaning it includes all nine essential amino acids.  Quinoa is a great source of magnesium, which helps those who suffer from migraines.  It is also a good source of the amino acid lysine which is essential for tissue growth and repair.  I suppose what I’m saying is that eating quinoa is one of the most healthful options you have.  The plus side  – it is also delicious!

Bring two cups of water to a boil in a saucepan.  Add one cup of quinoa.  Turn heat to medium low and cook for 15-18 minutes.  Remove from heat and let cool.  Finely chop 1/2 red onion and 1/2 green pepper.  Cut two medium tomatoes into small pieces.  Finely chop a handful of fresh dill.  Place vegetables in a large bowl.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Add cooled quinoa.  Whisk together 1/4 cup olive oil and 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar.  Pour over salad and mix well.  Chill in refrigerator at least two hours or overnight.  Enjoy!

10 responses to “Chilled Quinoa Salad

  1. I have yet to jump on the quinoa bandwagon. It’s not like I’m avoiding it; I just never think to look for it in the grocery. Your recipe is easy enough and sounds delicious. I’ll have to put quinoa on my shopping list — if I can remember where I put it. (You can see what I’m up against.)

    • I’ll admit that my purchase of quinoa sat on the shelf for quite some time. When Ritchey and I last ate at The Mayan Cafe his salmon came with a quinoa salad that was excellent! I based my recipe on what I could taste in their salad – gee, forgot to put that in the post! I was tired last night! You might enjoy if you once try it.

  2. I love quinoa in restaurants, but have had no luck cooking it myself…it always turns out gloppy…I’ll give it another shot, though!

  3. This is wonderful and I’m sending this link to my daughter in college. She loves quinoa and is always looking for ideas. I too love it and with our warm weather, salads are still on my weekly menus!

  4. Thanks for stopping by a few days ago!
    Have a blessed day;]

Any thoughts?

