Stuffed Peppers #3!

Chicken and Potato Stuffed Peppers with Fried Green Tomatoes

It seems as if I’m always trying to use leftovers – or whatever is on hand in the fridge.  These peppers definitely fit that category for supper Monday night.  For Sunday supper at mom’s my sister brought one of her fresh chickens – boiled until it was so tender the meat was falling off the bones.  It was so good.  The leftover chicken and broth went home with me.  One of my contributions to supper were baked potatoes – generously rubbed with olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt before going into the oven.  There were two left!  From the refrigerator I took out the last two leeks from the garden, two yellow and two orange peppers, an apple and butter.  From the pantry bagged stuffing and sage.  Time to begin.

Chicken and Potato Stuffed Peppers

  • 1 cup of leftover chicken cut into small pieces
  • 2 baked potatoes cut into small cubes
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2 leeks, thinly sliced
  • 1 apple, peeled, cored and finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons sage – or a little more!
  • 2 handfuls bagged stuffing
  • 1/2 cup – more or less – chicken broth
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 4 peppers, any color

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Place the cubed chicken and potatoes in a large bowl.  In a small skillet melt butter over medium heat.  Add leeks and cook just until softened – add to bowl.  Add chopped apple, sage and stuffing.  Add just enough chicken broth to moisten and bring mixture together.  Season with salt and pepper.  Cut tops off peppers, remove seeds and pulp.  Arrange peppers in a deep dish.  Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with just a bit of salt and pepper. Spoon mixture into peppers, gently pressing down to fill.  Cover with pepper tops.  Drizzle a little olive oil over peppers and add a spoonful or two of broth to help the peppers steam.  Cover with aluminum foil.  Allow to bake for 30 minutes.  Remove cover or foil and bake an additional 15 minutes or until peppers are tender.  Enjoy!

My peppers have been in the oven 15 minutes and when I went from the office to the kitchen the smell is absolutely wonderful!  An added bonus!

14 responses to “Stuffed Peppers #3!

  1. Hi Phyllis! This recipe sounds and looks so yummy. I’m going to try it very very soon. I have just one question. When you say bagged stuffing, what do you mean exactly? I live in Madrid and we can’t find American products that easily, any suggestion for a replacement.
    Thanks!

    • Very small croutons – or crushed croutons would work well! In the US we have bags of bread crumbs, sometimes with seasonings added, that many use to make turkey dressing or stuffing. They are usually rather hard until you add broth – so croutons should do! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. Yum, I like the sound of peppers and chicken. Why do we always think that they should be stuffed with beef. A great use of leftovers.

  3. Gee, Phyllis. Leftovers at my house are something I pull out of the fridge, stick in the microwave, wait for the “Ding!” and eat. What you have created here is a Repurposed Entree. This dish is far too good looking and, I imagine, too delicious to be saddled with “leftover” as a monicker. 🙂

  4. Oh, yum! I might have to roast a chicken for the two of us, just so there’ll be leftovers!

  5. This is definitely a different take on stuffed peppers and sounds delish. I have a chicken breast left and if just may find its way into a pepper for dinner tonight.

  6. Katherine will have my hide if I try to slip bagged stuffing in the pantry. She has a thing about stuffing. But those peppers are calling my name, perhaps I can distract her. She’ll never know!

  7. stuffing peppers and mushrooms are one of my favorite things to do. There are so many different things you can stuff them with. I love using couscous or orzo. This recipe looks amazing though and I can’t wait to try it

Any thoughts?

