Comfort Food – Steak and Gravy!

Comfort Food – Steak and Gravy!

Today I felt the need for comfort food.  There is no good explanation.  It was a beautiful fall day – in the mid 70’s.  Sunshine was in abundance, no wind to speak of.  The work day was normal, no stressful deadlines to meet, no new programs to learn – nothing like the last eight weeks!

Driving home I thought of the steak and gravy my mom – and her mother before her! – used to make.  That would be our supper!  There is really no recipe – it’s that simple.  Cut a round steak into portions.  Add a little salt and pepper and dredge in flour.  Cook in a skillet with a drizzle of olive oil on medium high heat until both sides are browned.  Add in several cloves of garlic.  Pour boiling water over the steaks – just enough to cover them.  Turn the heat to low, cover the skillet and let cook for about an hour.  Mine cooked for two hours since Ritchey was so late!  It was so tender a knife was not necessary!  Served with basmati rice and a good salad, it was a heavenly meal.  Sometimes it’s good to go home – even via memories!

9 responses to “Comfort Food – Steak and Gravy!

  1. That does look fall off the … plate?

  2. Yes, this is indeed comfort food. I just love a gravy smothered dish. It can be steak, chicken, turkey, an old fashioned “hot roast beef sandwich”, or just a biscuit or two, I don’t care. Hand me a gravy covered dish and I’m back home.

  3. I can smell my Grams’ kitchen right now…What a marvelous thing.
    Thanks for reminding me!

  4. I have enjoyed catching up with your posts. I can remember my mother cooking that same dinner for our family. It was always a favorite.

  5. I think my son would LOVE this!! Especially the gravy!!

Any thoughts?

