A Tart and Tangy Muffin Recipe!

Cranberry-Orange Muffins

Fall is here – not quite with all its glory in Kentucky! – that will come later in October! – but the cooler days, blooming mums of every color, pumpkins appearing on porches – those signs are here already!  I think of the words ‘warm and cozy’ when I think of fall.  First of October is when I change my summer curtains in the den to my fall curtains – from  light and breezy in color and material to heavy maroon and gold tapestries that you know will keep out the cold!  Comforters for the beds are changed, too.  Warm and cozy not only applies to my home, but my cooking as well!

Does anyone else think of fresh cranberries at this time of year?  I adore cranberries – they’re tart and tangy, burst into flavor, and have a lovely fall color!  There are so many ways to use cranberries!  Last night I thought about muffins!  Cranberry and orange – with a few pecans thrown in for good measure!  Not only wonderful flavors to combine, but two great color combinations!  I would rather have the delicious tangy taste of cranberry, so I didn’t add much sugar to these muffins.  If you would rather have a sweeter muffin you could add 1/4 cup more sugar.

Just a note, I didn’t have fresh cranberries, but had enough left in the freezer from last year.  I always freeze several packages during the fall and winter months to use throughout the year.  I thawed them slightly in the microwave before using.  I also like to add the dry ingredients first, then fruit, zest, nuts and stir well before adding wet ingredients.

  • 1 – 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 – 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup cranberries
  • zest of one orange
  • 1/2 cup pecan pieces
  • 1 well-beaten egg
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup cooking oil

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease muffin tin.  Add flour, sugar, baking powder and salt to a large bowl.  Mix well.  Add cranberries, orange zest and pecans and stir.  Mix together egg, milk and oil and add to bowl.  Stir just till moistened.  Add batter to muffin tins.  Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until golden brown.  Makes 12 muffins.  Enjoy!

10 responses to “A Tart and Tangy Muffin Recipe!

  1. Oh goodness, you had to ask. We’re having Thanksgiving this weekend, long story, but anyway, can’t find a single darn bag of cranberries. Katherine’s joked that we’re going to have to buy a can of Ocean Spray. These muffins look wonderful.

    • Oh, my, that is a predicament! We never celebrate Thanksgiving on Thanksgiving because Ritchey always has to work. The holiday is when everyone can be there to celebrate together! Would dried cranberries cooked with apples, raisins, orange juice and zest and such work? Add a few pecans, chill?

  2. These really do sound good. I always freeze a couple bags of cranberries, too. I love ‘em year-round.

  3. oh yum, these look like really amazing muffins.I particularly like the way the juice has flowed down their outsides.

  4. Phyllis
    These muffins are really good! We just got fresh cranberries in our produce department and you posted this recipe! I usually try to freeze some for yearly use too but, this past year has been so busy that I forgot to get them before they were all gone! I just got time to try these and they are great! I will be baking them again! I love cranberries!
    Thanks!

Any thoughts?

