Raspberry Dinette Cake

Note by Phyllis Brown:  I have used this dinette cake recipe for many years – when Ritchey and I were first married – and now that there’s just the two of us once again.  A large cake lasts forever, but this size is just about right!  I added raspberries and a little Framboise for an extra touch!  Icing is too sweet for me, but I love a fruit topping!  A toast of Framboise with the cake made it perfect!

Raspberry Dinette Cake

  • butter for greasing the cake pan
  • 12 ounces frozen raspberries, thawed and drained
  • 2 teaspoons Framboise
  • 1 cup plus 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup shortening
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Generously grease a 9-inch cake pan with butter.  Add drained raspberries.  Sprinkle the 1 teaspoon sugar and 2 teaspoons Framboise over the berries.

Measure all remaining ingredients into a large mixing bowl.  Blend 1/2 minute on low speed, scraping bowl constantly.  Beat 3 minutes at high speed.  Pour into pan.  Bake 40 to 45  minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.  Cool 10 minutes before carefully turning out on a wire rack.  Put rack on cookie sheet to catch raspberry juice.  Enjoy!

12 responses to “Raspberry Dinette Cake

  1. Oh, my! That looks absolutely incredible! If I’m at a dinner and see that’s for dessert, I’d probably skip a course or, at least, barely eat one just to make sure I’d have room for a BIG slice of this cake — and it better be BIG or things could get ugly. 😉

  2. I can easily imagine all the flavors here and my palate is craving them now. 🙂

  3. Looks really amazing. really fruity and rich and delicious.

  4. oh yum i could have a slice of that with a cup of tea right now

  5. What a great recipe. And I know what you mean. A big cake is just too much for two people!

  6. This looks absolutely delicious. All your pics are always great and mouth watering.
    I have started making muffins/cup cakes for birthdays instead of a big cake, much easier all round.

Any thoughts?

