Beautiful Swallowtail

Tiger Swallowtail

Of all the beautiful butterflies the world has to offer, my favorite would be the Tiger Swallowtail.  The wings are glorious – absolute perfection!  And the body itself, with it’s yellow with black markings, is a work of art.

As I stepped out on the deck this gorgeous creature appeared and fed from the same flower for less than a minute – but long enough for me to take 24 quick shots!  It was hard to choose which photos to use for the blog!  I love this one because his back actually looks hairy!

Our Butterfly Bushes have indeed lived up to their name this year!  They have drawn quite a variety of butterflies, moths and hummingbirds!  I just haven’t been quick enough to get a shot of a hummingbird yet!

Notice the shadow where the wings overlap.

What a way to begin the day!  I am blessed!

6 responses to “Beautiful Swallowtail

  1. I believe that’s what my crape myrtle is supposed to look like. Beautiful shots.

  2. You really do take some beautiful shots. Well done!

  3. Mom, those shots are amazing!!!

Any thoughts?

