My Mother’s Baked Tomatoes

Note by Phyllis Brown:  These are the baked tomatoes my mom always made.  She would sometimes use her home-canned tomatoes or a store-bought canned tomato in a pinch.  The amounts of brown sugar and cinnamon can be adjusted to your personal taste.  Your tomatoes need to be ripe and juicy!  A good amount of juice is very important for this recipe!  An added bonus – the aroma of cinnamon while baking is fantastic!  These tomatoes were part of our 13 1/2 pounds we picked Sunday!

My Mother’s Baked Tomatoes

  • 6 large tomatoes, peeled, cored and cut into chunks, reserving juice
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 5-6 slices of white bread, toasted
  • 1 tablespoon butter

Put tomatoes, along with juice, in a large bowl as you peel, core and chunk.

Notice how much juice was in my bowl.  Add sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, a little salt and pepper.  Mix well and taste – add additional sugar or cinnamon at this point.  Tear toast into pieces.  Mix well.  Pour into a large casserole dish.  Dot with butter.

Bake in a 425 degree oven for about 50 minutes.  Enjoy!  P.S.  The Yellow Squash and Zucchini Casserole shown below will be tomorrow’s blog!

10 responses to “My Mother’s Baked Tomatoes

  1. That looks really really delicious!

  2. This is a completely new dish to me.We either roast tomatoes, serve them fresh, or make a sauce. I bet this is really delicious. Thanks for sharing and for opening my eyes — even if it is a bit early in the morning.

  3. I love roasted tomatoes and seeing now so many versions of baking tomatoes! This is so quite different in the use of nutmeg and cinnamon; I bet its really good!!

  4. What a cool way to prepare tomatoes, and one I haven’t tried. Very cool. Also, just saw over at Linda’s that you’d only been blogging since June. I know I’ve only been coming that long, but I figured you’d been at it longer. You guys are pros.

  5. Pingback: Yellow Squash and Zucchini Casserole | foodflowersherbsandlife

  6. Pingback: My Mother's Baked Tomatoes | foodflowersherbsandlife | tomatoes | Scoop.it

Any thoughts?

