“I’m a lonely little petunia in an onion patch!”

Note by Phyllis Brown:  When I see or think of petunias the song from Captain Kangaroo inevitably comes to mind – ‘I’m a lonely little petunia in an onion patch, an onion patch, an onion patch.  I’m a lonely little petunia in an onion patch and all I do is cry all day.’  Mine are not planted in an onion patch, but in boxes hanging on the deck and in pots in the middle of our flower garden.  I suppose those are rather close to the leeks – does that count?

There are multitudes of color variations for petunias, but I chose pink and purple this year.

Petunias have a sweet smell – is this what draws butterflies and moths – or the color?  They also leave a sticky residue on your hands after you pull the dead blooms!

Ritchey got great shots of a Sphinx Moth or Hummingbird Moth on the petunias that was featured in a previous post.

No matter how lowly they are considered, petunias add a splash of color to the garden!

2 responses to ““I’m a lonely little petunia in an onion patch!”

  1. Lowly! I think they’re pretty. My wife would probably be pleased with any flowers!

Any thoughts?

