An Easy and Delicious Way to Eat Your Spinach!

Getting home at 8:00 p.m. is not the ideal time to start supper, but with a quick and easy meal you can have everything ready in a flash!  More to the point this is a meal that is not only high in iron and one of the world’s healthiest foods, but is among the tastiest!  And nothing could be easier!

Wilted Spinach

Saute a large, chopped red onion in a drizzle of olive oil for a few minutes until it starts to soften.  Add two cloves of garlic, finely chopped.  Add a handful of pine nuts and one of golden raisins.  Stir and cook for one minute.  Add a large bag of spinach and cook just until wilted, stirring occasionally.  Crumble some blue cheese over the top and remove skillet from stove, allowing the cheese to partially melt.  The spinach was served with leftover mashed potatoes fried into cakes.  So quick, so easy, so good!  Enjoy!

12 responses to “An Easy and Delicious Way to Eat Your Spinach!

  1. This sounds great, Phyllis. I’ve added pine nuts and Parmesan cheese but I have to try your idea of including raisins and bleu cheese. It sounds like a big improvement over mine.

  2. Hi Phyllis Was I surprised went and clicked on your food blog link!
    I already follow you. Found the cemetery post really interesting so glad I needed up there
    This recipe sounds wonderful.
    Best,
    Ruth

  3. I could so eat this any night of the week!! Sounds so good, love the addition of raisins! Phyllyis, I truly enjoy each and every one of your recipes. Your style of cooking is exactly as I like. I’ve made so many of your dishes and you inspire me each time I read your blog! Hope you enjoy a wonderful, Merry Christmas!!

    • Linda, you made my day! What a nice compliment! In many ways I feel intimidated by other bloggers – I’ve not done this as long as they, nor had quite the experience. Your recipes are always amazing! We have enjoyed many of your dishes – and, in fact, I’m making your cheesecake today! Have a wonderful, joyous Christmas!

  4. I love the idea of a little blue cheese and no one needs to twist my arm to eat spinach.

  5. As a kid I used to hate spinach. Then again no one ever made it like this!

  6. I posted this on FB and a friend made it with feta and apples instead of the bleu cheese and raisins. She declared it delicious.

Any thoughts?

