Oatmeal-Apple Cake

Today was a perfect example of a fall day.  This morning was chilly, there was a slight drizzle outside and it was overcast.  What more could one think of than something warm and delicious from the oven to brighten the day?  John, at from the Bartolini kitchens, canned applesauce the other day – which made me think about all the lovely possibilities with the apples that are so plentiful at this time of year.  Fall always brings to mind my aunt’s oatmeal cake – and even better, an oatmeal cake with apples!

Tonight I used Gala apples for this cake, but I look forward to our yearly trip to Liberty, Kentucky – Amish country in our area.  There are many varieties of apples available – in addition to many other fall delights – winter squashes, turnips, pumpkins, colorful mums, gourds.  After turning off the main road, the smaller county roads twist and turn, getting further back into the country.  The drive is a joy unto itself!  Yes, we have a week of vacation the last of the month – a trip to Liberty is definitely on the agenda!

Oatmeal-Apple Cake

  • 1 1/2 cups boiling water
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 large apple, peeled, cored and finely chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9 x 13 pan.  In a small bowl pour boiling water over oats.  Mix well and cool (I sat mine in the sink with just a bit of ice water).  In a large mixing bowl combine sugars, flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Turn mixer on low to combine.  Add butter and eggs and mix well.  Add  oatmeal and apples.  Stir well to combine.  Pour batter into pan.  Bake for about 40 minutes.  Remove cake and turn oven to broil.  Carefully add topping – spread evenly.  Broil until topping is bubbling and lightly browned.  Enjoy!

Topping:

  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups flaked coconut
  • 1/2 cup pecan pieces
  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup cream

Combine ingredients for topping during the last couple of minutes of baking.

6 responses to “Oatmeal-Apple Cake

  1. Aunt Catherine’s, right? I bet your kitchen was filled with a most heavenly aroma while this was baking. I’m going to bake this, no doubt about it. It looks too good to pass up. Thanks for sharing and thanks for mentioning the blog. :)

    • I was in the office while it baked, and when I came out to check it – the smell was amazing! My aunt is a great cook! She and her husband never had children, but several of my cousins, sisters and I spent many great weeks at her house. I can vividly remember all of us around her table in the morning while she and Uncle Carroll made a huge breakfast for us! Wonderful memories!

  2. I like the look of this cake – might just have to try this recipe out someday :)

  3. My mom used to make apple cake somewhat like this. I didn’t really pay attention in the kitchen as much as I should have. It was so good that once my sister made it for an event and mom mistakenly went to serve it for dessert to the family and a near fight ensued. We still make jokes about that. NOT THE APPLE CAKE! This cake looks so moist and the topping, delicious.

    • Thank you! Don’t you love crazy family memories like that! My sister had an explosion using her new science kit in the kitchen – I was babysitting – it happened on my watch! It left a huge black stain on the ceiling. We’ve never lived that one down!

Any thoughts?

