Divine Round Steak

Ritchey and Linton returned last night from a three-day camping trip.  They had a great time – hiked 11 miles up the mountain one day!  There was no one to cook for so I relaxed for a few days!  Tonight I wanted something good and nourishing – and found a couple of round steaks in the freezer.

I also had bags of frozen cherry tomatoes.  Now, what could I do with the two?  The tomatoes I put in a pan over low heat and let them thaw – added a little salt, pepper, basil and thyme.  Using my immersion blender I whisked it into a tomato sauce and let it cook on low until thickened.

In a large skillet I sauteed chopped red onion, garlic and green pepper in a little olive oil – and added a sprinkle of salt and pepper.  When the onions were translucent, I removed them to a bowl.

To the same skillet I added a little more olive oil and browned the steaks on both sides.  Since they were rather large, I browned them separately.

I added just a bit of the tomato sauce mixture in the skillet first, arranged the steaks on top, then poured the rest of the sauce over the steaks.  The red onions, garlic and green peppers were placed on top.  I covered the skillet, turned the heat to low and let it simmer until the steak was fork tender – about 30-40 minutes.  Basmati rice is my favorite!  I seasoned it with lime zest and used it as the bed for the presentation of the steak and sauce.  It was a homecoming supper!  After all, I couldn’t let Ritchey get too used to cooking for himself now, could I?  I might be out of a job!  Enjoy!

7 responses to “Divine Round Steak

  1. Pingback: About | Growing Tomatoes In Containers

  2. Ritchey’s no fool. I bet whatever cooking skills he may have picked up along that hike will surely be “forgotten” once he crosses your threshold. You’re just too good at your “job.” :)

    • I had to laugh! Yes, except for his omelets and fondue! Perhaps he has to be in the great outdoors before he gets his calling to be a chef! He and Linton took pictures of their food to bring back to me! Peach cobbler, steaks with peppers, onions and mushrooms – with a baked potato – and breakfast!

  3. My mother used to make round steak like that and I think it is delicious. She called the dish Swiss steak and served it with mashed potatoes. I think I’ll go buy a round steak.

    • When my mom made steak like this she floured the steak, then added boiling water to make gravy – and let it cook covered for 30 minutes or so. The tomatoes ‘lightened’ the dish a bit! But I still go back to mom’s way when I need that feel of home!

Any thoughts?

