Cottage Cheese Salad

Note by Phyllis Brown:  This is a very simple salad that has lots of taste!  You can mix up the ingredients according to what you have on hand.  If I have large tomatoes I will cut off the top, core and spoon out the inside of the tomato, leaving the shell.  I cut up the removed flesh of the tomato and use in addition to a few cherry tomatoes.  The tomato shell makes a pretty container for your salad.  This is especially nice when serving company and each guest has their own filled tomato.

I happen to love cottage cheese.  My maternal grandmother, Alice Montgomery Carrico, made her cottage cheese from the milk that was brought in from the cows each morning.  The milk was allowed to sit in crocks until the cream rose to the top.  This my grandmother skimmed off with a large spoon and later churned into butter.  The crock with milk was covered with a cloth.  After the milk clabbered, the excess water was drained off.  Grandmother then seasoned her cottage cheese with salt and pepper – and many times added tomatoes, cucumbers and onions.  Whether the cottage cheese was plain or dressed up, mom said it was the best she’s ever had.

Grandmother would be amazed at the utensils and appliances we have today.  She didn’t have a mixer or food processor.  I doubt she owned a cookbook.  She cooked on a wood stove until her children were grown, and had an icebox instead of a refrigerator – at least until they sold the farm and moved to town.  But yet she was the best cook I’ve ever known – it was in her genes.  Grandmother is a hard act to follow – but I will try!

Cottage Cheese Salad

  • 10 ounces cherry tomatoes, halved if large
  • 1/8 large red onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 small cucumber, quartered and thinly sliced
  • 1 tablespoon fresh snipped chives
  • 2 large spoons of cottage cheese
  • salt
  • pepper

Add all ingredients to a bowl and stir well.  Taste and add more salt and pepper if necessary.  Enjoy!

6 responses to “Cottage Cheese Salad

  1. That looks tasty! I’m usually not fond of salads since many include ingredients on my ‘will not eat’ list – mushrooms, capers, olives. This is something I can make and eat happily. I’ve seen my grandmother’s old stove and it’s a super historic thing.

  2. What a great recipe! I’m so used to always pairing cottage cheese with sweet — fresh or canned frit — that I fail to think about using vegetables, specifically fresh cherry tomatoes from the garden. This salad is going onto my menu this weekend. Thanks!

  3. My wife would love this. Her mom always made tomato salads growing up. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you! Our tomatoes are slowly dwindling – no more tomato posts at that time! I dearly love tomatoes – they’re so very versatile! But after a couple of years of heirlooms fresh from our garden – I can’t bring myself to buy an over-priced and nowhere near as tasty tomato from the store. When ours are gone we have no more until next year – unless I can buy local from a farmer’s market.

Any thoughts?

