Fried Potatoes with Red Onion and Dill

Fried Potatoes with Red Onion and Dill

Last night I was going to do a basic baked potato and salad for supper, but then realized my potatoes were too small to bake – but perfect for a skillet of fried potatoes!  Memories of fried potatoes come way down the line for me.  I watched my grandmother cook on a wood stove – and they were one of her many specialties!  Hers were more your basic fried potatoes – cooked in lard! – but she showed me the techniques I still use today.

My potatoes begin with a good drizzle of olive oil in a large hot skillet.  First I cook my sliced red onion – while I’m preparing the potatoes.  No need to peel small red ones – just slice!  After washing, they are added to the skillet along with a generous amount of salt and pepper.

Potatoes need to be fried on rather high heat – and you don’t want to leave them.  I stay by the stove, carefully turning and turning.  I have a tendency to turn with my right hand while raising the skillet from the left.  They’re too precious to spill on the stove!

After some of the oil cooks out the potatoes start to brown and turn crispy!  It won’t be long now.  During the last ten minutes I usually add some snipped dill.  A feast not only for the eyes and the mouth – but also the nose!  Added to a green salad and whole grain bread it’s a supper fit for a king!

Fried Potatoes and Salad

6 responses to “Fried Potatoes with Red Onion and Dill

  1. Those look wonderful. I love pairing dill with potatoes and haven’t for some time.

  2. I have always loved fried potatoes and onions. My grandmother used to always cook them for lunch on Thursdays – my uncle drove a farm supply truck and passed by her house on Thursdays – she always saved the leftovers for me to have later in the day.
    Thanks for that memory! (I daresay yours are much healthier than hers!)

  3. That looks so lovely! Wonderful pictures!

  4. Pingback: Best Stuffed Peppers Ever! | foodflowersherbsandlife

Any thoughts?

